For the mothers in my life… My ode to you!

I had not intended to write a Mother’s Day blog post at all. It really is not what my focus here is about. Also, I am not terribly fond of Mother’s Day myself.  Yes, it is important to acknowledge those in a motherly role, but I very much feel that it is something that should be shown and expressed with great regularity rather than just on one specific day of the year.

My heart and head have been all over the map today. It has saddened me to read rants from people about their mothers, begrudging having to spend time, effort &/or money on these women that have had an impact on their lives. No mother is perfect (I know this all too well, as I have not had the best relationship with my own.) Like it or not, someone had to bring you into this world and give you life. You seriously begrudge a person that has extended this to you, or in some cases someone that may not have had the physical capability to do so, but opened their heart and their arms to make you theirs, a few minutes of your time? This is not about you. This is about them! Use this as an opportunity to say thank you! It really is the least you can do for a woman that helped you get to where you are – whether through positive example and loving, or through difficult lessons that have strengthened and helped you to grow into the person you have become. In most cases, they gave you life, a safe upbringing & some sort of support and nurturing. Is that not worth setting aside any kind of animosity for a few moments?

Motherhood is a challenge. There is no doubt of that. When you bring a new life into the world, you are setting your own heart out there to wander unprotected. This also means that the greatest joys always blossom from these experiences. As a child grows, so does a mother. It is one of those things you will never truly understand unless/until you walk in those same steps.

I am proud to say that I am surrounded by many magnificent mothers, who have taught me a great deal and have inspired me to no end! Some have been people I have known my entire life. Others, I have only known a short time. Please know that each of you have touched me in your own way. So thank you for that! The stories and experiences you have shared have not gone unrecognized, even though I may not always say something verbally. I still tuck that information into my brain and my heart. The stories and photos I have been fortunate enough to see and read have brought many smiles and even a few tears. Forgive me for not naming names, as I am terrified to forget someone unintentionally. BUT, if you are reading this & you know that I know you – whether face-t0-face or because you live in my laptop or Blackberry, YOU are one of these inspirational women in my life.

I am not particularly religious (although I was raised firmly entrenched in it.) However I have a few thoughts to share with you, that although they stem from religion (or religious people) that I am sure will bring comforting thoughts & perhaps a smile about the importance of mothers.

“Motherhood is near to divinity. It is the highest, holiest service to be assumed by mankind. It places her who honors its holy calling and service next to the angels.”

During my professional career as a doctor of medicine, I was occasionally asked why I chose to do that difficult work. I responded with my opinion that the highest and noblest work in this life is that of a mother. Since that option was not available to me, I thought that caring for the sick might come close. I tried to care for my patients as compassionately and competently as Mother cared for me. – Elder Russell M. Nelson

2 Responses

  1. “When you bring a new life into the world, you are setting your own heart out there to wander unprotected.”
    Love this, so very true.

    Felicia

  2. I love this blog post! I too saw rants about mother’s today and was shocked and saddened that some people can be so negative about the person who gave them life.

    For me it was a great day. My kids were so proud to give me their handmade gifts. I had tears. I also had tears doing the walk today thinking about how lucky I was to be me and have such a great mother, family, husband and children. Right now has been a tough time for us, but today I felt so blessed and the stresses just rolled off my back. I totally agree that loving and respecting your mom should be a daily thing, but not just mothers or father or grandparents. Respecting, being kind and reaching out to others and all people should be a daily thing year round.

Leave a Reply

