QOTD – First (few) date ideas. What are your favorites?

Let’s face it – meeting for coffee or drinks gets old quickly. Especially when you are heavily in the dating rotation. Sure, it is the safe choice but also keep in mind that your choice of date activity on those first few is a great way to let your personality shine and set you apart from all the other people in the dating people! 

Just remember SAY NO TO MOVIES on the first few dates! The whole point of this time is to converse, enjoy each others company and see if there is potential to keep moving forward. Sitting in a theatre does not make for great conversation, unless you want to be hushed by those around you. Plus, you will be judged by the movie you pick. Do you really want that pressure?

Post your ideas here, or tweet me & I will post the best ones later today!

Keep warm, dry and safe on these crazy roads. Happy Cinco de Mayo! Maybe stay home and drink margaritas instead. 😉

4 Responses

  1. My latest first date was a trip to the farmer’s market to collect ingredients for a vaguely planned dinner menu. We decided we wanted to make quiche and soup, which are both versatile, and just collected what we could from the Crossroads market (In retrospect, I might’ve gone to Calgary Farmer’s Market instead because there wasn’t much/any local stuff at Crossroads in April, but it would be fantastic in summertime).

    The cooking portion ended up being longer than planned (we made tomato soup from scratch) but the food was amazing and we had plenty of time to get to know each other without the awkwardness of being forced to talk over coffee. Plus, First Date Boy is now Boyfriend, so it worked out pretty well!

    • What an excellent idea for an early stages date! As long as you are at the point with someone where you feel comfortable being together in private, this is fabulous!

      I love cooking with someone! Great way to test your chemistry and ability to work together. 🙂

  2. I never really did the “dating” thing.. but I agree with drinks & coffee getting old quick. I think something with some thought in it is always a win… my husband took me to the zoo on one of our first dates (I was very new to the city then) because he knew I loved animals! & back when I was young (cause being 24 is old, right?) a guy I met took me for a moonlight picnic to watch the stars (there was a meteor shower and I worked afternoons, so this worked).. it was super romantic!

    That all being said, my husband.. the one who won my heart over.. took me for drinks & a movie for our VERY first date.. so I’m definitely not an expert! :p

    • If it makes you feel better, my first date with my ex-husband was a dinner and a movie date. It can work, but I personally would just rather not. Part of that might be that I find dating in my 30s to be a far different experience than it was in my 20s.

      Also, I am no expert either. Just a girl that has dated far more than she cares to & definitely has an opinion on many things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

