Question of the Day: Are you a statusmonger?

Status is all around us, impacting our daily lives. You cannot avoid it.  We judge people by where they live, their profession/occupation, what they do or do not drive, the clothes they wear, just to name a few.

Sometimes we are well aware of the assumptions we make about someone and other times we are simply blissfully unaware (or purely ignorant) of it.  Like it or not, we ALL do it in some way. “Judge not, that ye be not judged” – has this given us carte blanche in terms of judging others, telling us that we can judge as long as we are willing to be judged ourselves? (Mom & Dad be proud – I do remember things from all those years you drug me to church!)

I am not perfect (& really, life would be boring if I were.) I would like to say that status does not matter to me at all. On a scale of those living in Calgary, I would venture to guess it matters less to me than it does to many. HOWEVER – I do want someone that is self-sufficient. As long as my potential partner is happy with what they do, or are working towards what they want to be doing, that is what matters most to me.  Granted, I probably would not be happy with someone that was happy to spend their life pouring slurpees for someone else. Ambition is important. Also, I want someone I can be proud of being seen with, so I don’t want someone that is in a constant state of looking like they just rolled out of bed, or drug themselves out from underneath a bar stool.  That said, who someone is inside is much more important to me than who they are on the outside – the inside is what has staying power.

How does status play into your dating and searching for someone you can build a relationship with? 

I would love to hear you thoughts.

(Thank you to @Smudged & @doglover100 for starting this discussion with me yesterday!)

Leave a Reply

